top of page
Writer's picturesoominlee0522

[Worklog] 2024.01.31 (Capstone, Houdini)

1. Overview

Today I had 3 hours between Graphics 2 class and Capstone class, so I stayed and worked for capstones in the school. For modeling I had to borrow a monitor from Nathan. Anyway I finished modeling of talking skull and did the main character modeling. I watched Shader lecture, the third one. It was only about variables which I already knew. During the capstone class, I worked a little bit of modeling and Houdini tool.



2. Modeling for Capstone

First, I was doing the main character modeling. As you see, I tried to make hair. But I don't know how to make hair, especially stylized graphics. So I had to ask to my teacher.



Then I moved to a talking skull modeling. I was making with a human skull photo reference, so it was made with realistic graphics.



It was too realistic, so it didn't look like fitting with our current graphics style. So I had to change it. I made it wider and changed a little bit of structure.



I colored the eyes to design. Now I have to make a lowpoly model and unwrap it.



3. Houdini

Today I started to study Houdini again because I found a very interesting lecture series in YouTube. I will try to recap the knowledge I learned and try to do challenges he made!



It was a really well explained tutorial. I could review all the basic. I was having a hard time to set the perspective, but now I know space+1 is perspective viewport, space+2 is top viewport, space+3 is front viewport, space+4 is right viewport and space+5 is UV.




I watched the next one too. It was explaining the basic modeling and I made a donut. This reminded me of the first Blender modeling class of this course in the first semester. Haha I didn't miss it but it was kinda fun although I still don't like Blender.



I knew all the nodes in the tutorial except 'object merge.' object merge node can bring other nodes, including other geometry's node. It looks quite useful. And I also used 'attribute', 'group' and 'scatter.' Those are really useful and important, but I easily forget about them because I was always just doing modeling by myself.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page