top of page
Writer's picturesoominlee0522

[Capstone] Week 6-7

Updated: Mar 13

1. Overview

I finished these tasks in this sprint, for 2 weeks. We had to finish our prototype until last Friday (February 16th) and I worked so hard to make it look better in an artistic side.


  1. Modeling puzzle assets (lever, button, pressure plate) + Lowpolys, mapping

  2. Modeling props (Big pillar for gargoyle, lamp, small cross, small building)

  3. Modeling two iron gates (1x1 size, 2x1 size)

  4. Modeling modular roof assets

  5. Applying animation to Enemy AI with Animation blueprints and C++

  6. Putting puzzle assets to puzzle blueprint and making puzzle assets work with C++ (with Marcelo)

  7. Creating a prototype level based on Ryan design (Terrain, material, assets, lightings, and so on)

  8. Polishing a prototype level after Ryan edited (Details: in the GitHub branch)

  9. Creating functions to changing player perspective

  10. Learning and applying Head bobbing camera effects

  11. Fixing camera bug that was discovered during the test

  12. Editing environmental materials to improve (giving some randomness and noise)

  13. Making stylized grass and stone assets for foliage

  14. Applying the foliage and putting on the level

  15. Modeling zombie (12-15h)




2. Modeling

In this sprint, I think I worked more than 20 hours only for modeling. I wanted to show a better visual prototype, so I made some props and assets for puzzle system. I tried to make them simple. Other architecture assets didn't include roof, so it looked weird when I just put all the assets on the prototype level based on Ryan design. Even more, we didn't have a big pillar for gargoyle, I had to make a new one.



Each roof piece is modular. So we can use them all the building. But I think I need to make a new type of building or roof piece for the next objective: the vertical slice.


If you see the screenshot above, there is a gargoyle on the pillar. One of our puzzle system is gargoyle and pressure plate, and I didn't want to use a Unreal default white box for the pillar.



As I mentioned, I also put puzzle assets to the blueprints and made it work with C++. When I was rotating the lever, there was an problem about the lever handle.



If the gizmo of the lever's handle is placed in the same position as the base below, the handle will not be visible properly when rotated. So I had to move the axis of the lever to down. If I set the lever handle's gizmo below the base.


After the prototype due was over, I started to make a zombie. I received very realistic references of zombie, even though our character designs are stylized. So during the capstone class, me, Ryan and other teammates were discussing the design.



It still looks like a realistic graphics, but I will do my best to look stylized when l will do texturing. In the reading week or after, I will make a low polygon models for normal map, unwrap UVs and do texturing.


I also made grass and small stone models for foliage, but I will write more below.




3. Prototype



First, I want to show our prototype game explanation video. Nandish took the video and narrated.


What I contributed to prototype was mostly modeling parts and level design stuff. Of course, I did some programming stuffs, but I mainly worked on art part. I created the level with terrain, materials, and lighting.



This is the whole prototype map. There are two rats and one gargoyle who are craving for killing the player. The green circle is a nav-mesh for enemy AI. If you play the map, you can see that the whole atmosphere is totally changed.



Thanks to the post process effect and the ambient background sound, the game feels like a horror movie. I also worked on the head bobbing camera effects and it gives a realistic feeling like you are really walking.


Also, I created foliage models by myself, because we needed stylized ones.



I created the models with 3DS MAX, ZBrush and Substance Painter. It was first time for me to make foliage models. After I made them, I applied them to the foliage. My first idea was just putting the foliage all over the terrain. But it didn't look nice. After consideration and discussion with Ryan and Marcelo, I decided to put them just near walls or fences.



So in game, it looks better than the environment without foliage.



4. Environment material



For the environment material, I learned how to give it noises and randomness from YouTube. I painted on the terrain with brush.



The above screenshot is the material which wasn't applied the randomness, and the below one is fixed one. I used the second one for prototype, so the terrain looks better than before.



I used micro variation of normal and tint.



After I created the micro variations, I applied them to the base color to give randomness. It was fun to make a better environment material.



5. Etc

For the prototype, we had only 3 weeks but we successfully finished the prototype. All the members tried our best and discussed a lot. We helped each other a lot and it became a very good experience for us. After the submission, it was happy to see other people playing our game too. This experience gave me more energy and will to finish our game in the end. I'm so glad to have decided to be a game developer.

4 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page