top of page
Writer's picturesoominlee0522

[Capstone] Week 4-5

1. Overview

In these two weeks, I worked so hard even though I was sick because of the food poisoning. I had to finish the main character modeling and some programming stuffs. For the main character modeling, it took more than 10 hours just for modeling, not even including making low polygons, Unwrapping UV, and Mapping. I almost lost my patience. Other than the main character, I also did the throwing bone modeling and talking skull modeling. I also put an animation of the talking skull. I made a post process effect of the dark immersive field. It will make our game look better. It was a really busy sprint.



2. Main Character Modeling



For the modeling, I made two version. The blue one (It is just a basic 3DS MAX material.) is the model before getting some flesh, and the pink one is the after one. If you see closely, you can see the ear and some differences. While I was modeling it, I had a hard time because of the hair and clothes. Because I made it as a whole body, not separate jacket and body. So the graphic teacher took a look at it and helped me reorganize it.



After the mapping, I put the models to Marmoset Toolbag 4. The eyes are glowing with blue color and emissive texture. When you see the hands and legs of the right one, you can see some flesh. In the game, the character will change after some levels or eating bodies.



3. Other modeling


Other than the main character, I did a throwing bone modeling and a talking skull. For the bone modeling, I just used ZBrush to make it better. It took 2 hours including everything, such as modeling, making low polygon, unwrapping UV, and mapping. It will use



The talking skull modeling was quite easy because I already made skull several times before. Also for the texturing, I made two version: glowing eye and just normal skull.


But the talking animation was totally different. When I was rigging, it was really hard to do.



So my graphic teacher helped me again. He made a controller separately to move the jaw. It helped me a lot to make an animation. Anyway I exported it to Unreal Engine 5 after making it.



4. Applying animations with Blueprint


After finishing all the mapping, I uploaded the character file to Mixamo and used auto-rigging of the website. I used the free animations and exported them to Unreal Engine 5. I had to do all the two versions.


I used an Unreal Engine Animation blueprints to apply the animations. I made two Blend space 1D for walking and crouching. I connected them to the blueprint and added some variables such as speed and isCrouching.



So now it is working perfectly! If you press left control key, you can crouch it. I will ask Marcelo to reduce the sound when the player is crouching.


5. Changing perspectives


I created an input action for changing perspective and made it work. I basically used blueprint.



There were three options to set. First, it should not make it move when using third person perspective. So I had to separate the mapping context and removed mapping context when using TPP camera.

Second, I had to lower the camera z location when using crouching. so I made and changed crouching functions. In the function, I also added codes to changing the capsule component size.

Third, while using FPP camera, sometimes it showed the skull mesh in an awful view. So I had to make it invisible while using FPP Camera.



6. Effects


For the Immersive Dark Field post process effect, I used a YouTube video to learn it. After I made the effect, we had an issue. It only showed one color of the post process, so it ignored all other light source and colors.



So I revised the post process material to get all the RGB colors. So it looks way better than before.



Also I put head-bobbing camera effect. I followed the values of the tutorial video, but it made me feel carsick. So I reduced all the values. I will adjust it later with the teammates.

8 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page